Winter

After spending the past week watching the whole Harry Potter series, plus preparing my hibernation for the next few weeks to come, I am definitely very excited for Christmas and this holiday season.

Admittedly, the idea of Winter is much better than the actual concept of Winter. I have always wondered how people in films and on TV always seem so at their best in Winter when, in reality, snow and frost is messy and, in busy places, does not stay that perfect cloudy-marshmallow-plump that is shown, and it is usually so windy or rainy, especially in England, to actually really enjoy the outside very much. However, the simple idea of just cuddling up inside, watching films, being cosy and warm infront of the fire, eating good food and being with friends and family makes up for that. I think that is why I feel so happy at Christmastime, because, despite the cold, I am a sucker for laziness, warmth and feeling all lovely.

It seems that Christmas has started a bit earlier this year, and everyone is just so excited. It is like being a child again. One of the weirdest feelings as you get older is that the excitement of Christmas, birthdays and Easter kind of fizzles out and as much as you try, it doesn’t really feel the same as when you are younger. I find that now I am older, I listen to Christmas songs and watch Wintery movies on repeat to try and mimick that feeling. I think that is because different things matter at this point. Christmas means something different to me now because it isn’t just the presents or Father Christmas anymore. Being Christian, I have learnt to appreciate the true meaning of Christmas and Easter and how important they are as a religious holiday. Similarly, in my life, these holidays symbolise coming home from University to family, therefore my excitement starts that little bit earlier and it feels a bit more special than it used to (as cliche and gross as it sounds, it is true). I also really enjoy the decorations but that is another story of excitement.

I got the chance to come back to my family home for a few days for this week, which is a rare occurance deemed through the ridiculous level of travelling it takes for only being 2 and a bit hours away. Sitting with my dog and drinking a warm cup of tea in my PJs listening to fun music I haven’t heard in a while is giving me an intense feeling of contentment. That feeling of contentment means one thing: I should probably get on with my University work.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other :) I can’t wait to read more.

Leave a Reply

