Christmas Night

It is currently 12:24am of Boxing Day morning and Christmas 2015 has just passed us by for another year. I am surrounded by some really, truly, amazing and generous souls. I especially think of my parents when I say this because they have the most lovely hearts and I am happy to carry a part of them.

Whilst watching The Grinch (irony), it occurred to me that the true spirit of Christmas sometimes does go amiss, and it is important to remember what it really is about – love, and the importance of family. In the least soppy way possible, we all need reminding of this once in a while.

I love Christmas and everything it stands for. Whether that being a big marketing ploy to some, a chance to show off for another, a chance to be with those you don’t see as often as you would like, or simply just another day to someone else, it all has different meanings to everyone. But I love the idea that anything is possible over Christmas. The films, songs and happy memory connotations that surround Christmas is great.

Christmas goes too quickly but yet, it also doesn’t come around quick enough! It makes me realise that I want to make that extra effort, and become a better person, and make something important of myself. Christmas fuels my appreciation for the little things that I do not get to think about at any other point in the year. For some reason, Christmas makes me realise a lot about the world we live in and the place we are lucky enough to call home. I am sure that this has been said a million times, but it definitely puts things into perspective. And I have everything I could dream of in people, let alone in objects that give me ‘happiness’.

I put the word happiness in quotations merely for the questionable idea of value. I have grown up in this world, materialistic as it is, but as much as I don’t want to be seen as a spoilt brat, I also can’t hide the excitement of opening gifts and goodies, no matter what they are, because I am, admittedly, a child at heart. Though, I believe that it is important that this excitement is not mistaken for greed, envy or dispute. Everything is of worth, nothing is ‘more’ or ‘less’ than something else. Objects cannot have value, the same as love or happiness cannot either, because everything you perceive of value is merely your own subjective idea of what you think to be important. So, a sock to you may be the world to another (cue Harry Potter reference). It is important to consider this before feeling greed or envy of others, and even yourself. Life is not about what you can buy but what you can feel. And Christmas is more than presents and receiving. It is the whole package.

There are still a few days left to celebrate this season and as the end of the year approaches, I should really start to think about resolutions.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

