Kiko Makeup Review

Obviously I got roped into spending even more money on makeup, but I am always super intrigued about Kiko. I have only been in once in Rome as it is a bit of a big deal in Italy, which is where I bought the Summer collection powder (which, by the way is my absolute fave). It is a great price for what it is, and so I have been meaning to try out Kiko properly and really get a feel for it.

I needed a few bits so I popped to the Kiko store in Bath. I do find it quite hit and miss because I am very picky when it comes to makeup and so it does take a while for me to make a decision! However, I tried out two new products that I thought a review would help those who are as picky with makeup as I am.

Kiko Soft Focus Concealer

img_0743

img_0745

This simple concealer was a great price for only £7.50. It has a little brush at the end which is delicate enough to use straight on the skin. It is described as an illuminating concealer with redensifying lifting effect… whatever that is supposed to mean. I think, after some research it is actually for wrinkles however, I gave it a go.

Pros

  1. It is super lightweight and flawless and glides really nicely onto the skin, good for natural looks or without foundation.
  2. It dries quickly and doesn’t streak throughout the day.
  3. The colour match is great and true to what it states on the packaging.
  4. It is easy to use and doesn’t overload when trying to get the product out when pushing the button. I quite like the quirky dispenser as well (easily pleased).
  5. It doesn’t feel sticky like some concealers do.

Cons

  1. It is almost too lightweight so the coverage isn’t great, not good for spots but works under the eyes.
  2. Best to use over foundation than under as it rubs off quickly when applied under another product.
  3. Dries too quickly so application has to be quite quick.
  4. It took a while to initially get the product to surface!
  5. It is a very… average. I think because I really love the Wake Me Up concealer by Rimmel, I was hoping to find something that beat it and it didn’t happen. But it works.

Kiko Velvet Passion Matte Lipstick

img_0752

img_0759

img_0756

img_0764

I like the lipstick – it is a new personal favourite and I was really nicely surprised with it considering I had never tried it before and I am not a huge lipstick fan either. I actually opted for this because it seemed a close dupe to one of my sisters lipsticks, a Mac one that I stole from my sister. I was trying to find a cheaper version, as a student and all, so I thought this was relatively similar. It really is a lovely colour in 302 Beige Rose and was only £10.90! What a bargain.

Pros

  1. Colour true to how it looks with a great range to choose from and it stays on for a decent amount of time without looking odd or needing a top up.
  2. For what it is, it is a great price and really sits well on your lips
  3. It doesn’t make your lips feel dry or creased
  4. It is true to its’ matte form and looks gorgeous, plus I loooove the packaging!

Cons

  1. It does show up dryness that is there already, so I recommend exfoliation before use.
  2. It failed the eating test!
  3. Whereas with Mac and other lipsticks, you may be able to ‘overdo’ it and use a lot, you are unable to do that with this one. It is quite thick so too much really makes it look too much. Less is more with this lipstick, so not ideal for those who like to go for it!

 

Have you tried a new makeup range recently? Let me know what you think!

 

7 thoughts on “Kiko Makeup Review

  1. I have tried blushes and a lipstick from their limited editions from last year and I found them to be of great quality for the price. I heard their foundation and liquid type products can be quite hit or miss. The lipstick shade you have picked up is calling my name! So pretty!

Leave a Reply

