Thank you, 2016 // 2017 resolutions

I took a few days off to chill & recoup and I feel so much better from spending some time with myself, my family and my boyfriend. It is nice to have a break sometimes, even though when I do I always feel a bit guilty for not working, anyone else feel that way when they take time off?

Christmas came and went very quickly as usual, and I am so lucky. I wanted to reflect on 2016 – the weirdest year, politically, socially and celebrity-death related, of all arguably.

My year consisted of more learning than ever – finishing 2nd year, interviewing and starting my year in industry, moving in with my boyfriend in a new flat, visiting Rome and Edinburgh, moving family home, Lew getting a puppy, and so much more. Though a lot of bad and sad things have happened, I have recognised and acted upon learning about myself more than I have any other year. It really has been a year of reflection and growth.

So thanks 2016, 2017…

521491_tv-my-body-is-ready.gif

What I have learnt from 2016

Recognising (and acting upon) anxiety in different forms
Worrying solves nothing!
Learning to let go will stop me worrying what others think of me
Embracing myself, understanding myself, and loving myself
How to truly look after myself
How to balance my life – if others can’t understand you’re schedule, f**k ’em
I am ambitious, but I understand the importance of down-time
Your impacts don’t immediately happen – be patient!
Being hard on yourself can be bith positive and negative. Never be so hard on yourself that it impacts your success.
Home is the most important place on Earth
I want to make a difference in the world – socially and environmentally .
If I put my mind to it, I can do anything
I know where true happiness lies, and that is not in material things
I am capable of opening up to strangers
Being true to myself is more important than pleasing others
You cannot have external control, no matter how hard you try, and that’s ok.
Take time for the things you enjoy
Never feel guilty to do things for you
Stepping out of your comfort zone is hard, but so worth it
Life is to be enjoyed
Being a bit weird is not a negative thing
Never take your life for granted.

Thank you for reading my blog this past year-it has been great to see it grow & develop and I am so excited for the future! 

Also, my post from last year is here if you want a read!

2 thoughts on “Thank you, 2016 // 2017 resolutions

Leave a Reply

