Hello 2017!

Welcome to my resolutions from both 2016 and looking ahead to 2017. And, my, what a year it’s been!

Over a year ago now (ew) I wrote my 2015 Review going through everything from my faves and memories throughout my year. I think one of the best things about having a blog is that it is so easy to go back and remind yourself of eerything that has happened.

I also wrote 2016 New Years’ Resolutions in the hopes that I would actually commit to aims to do for a year. And it was hard, but I made them much more realistic and decided that for once I would actually stick to my yearly goals instead of forgetting they are there…

And, my friends, I did it.

My 2016 resolutions were:

VISIT 3 NEW PLACES

I visited RomeCoventry and Edinburgh this year, pretty good for a student budget and being on a work placement!

PASS DRIVING TEST

Yes!!! Finally, in May I passed my driving test ready for my first car in June! It was one of the proudest moment’s of my life and I absolutely love my little Wilhelmina!

USE MY TIME MORE EFFECTIVELY

This has definitely been something I have worked on this year, especially since starting my work placement and needing to manage my time wisely, plus working through exams etc. So definitely a tick.

READ MORE BOOKS

Thank goodness, I rekindled my love for reading and have managed to read 4 books this year (great for someone who literally never has any spare time!)

EAT HEALTHIER

This is another definite – finding time to look after my body through food. Sugar is still my guilty pleasure, but a treat won’t hurt!

MANAGE MONEY MORE WISELY (AKA ONLY ONLINE SHOP WHEN ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY).

Yes, and no, I suppose. Though now I’m on a salary I find it a lot easier to save and spend, buying better quality things has been something I’ve worked on this year.

DO SOMETHING FOR MYSELF AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH THAT HELPS MY BODY

I starting getting massages, having a bath every few weeks, taking time out, and exercising through trampolining when my body feels up to it. I also visited the gym once but I hated it.

TELL MY FAMILY I LOVE THEM MORE

Everyday.

GET OVER MY FEAR OF FLIGHTS

Probably not as easily said than done, but for the first time this year I didn’t cry for a whole flight (sounds stupid but it is true) so that is an achievement in itself!

STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT THINGS THAT AREN’T WORTH COMPLAINING ABOUT

My positivity has been at an all time high this year, but I’d like to continue working on this throughout 2017.

My Resolutions for 2017

DO MORE FOR THE PLANET –

& helping others do the same

VISIT 3 NEW PLACES –

both UK & abroad

MAKE THE MOST OF ALL OPPORTUNITIES –

within placement & degree

MAKE TIME FOR SOCIAL LIFE –

manage elements of my life better

INVEST IN THINGS RATHER THAN IMPULSE SPEND –

use money wisely

SAVE SAVE SAVE £££ –

as much as physically possible! Especially going back into part-time work…

SAY SORRY LESS OFTEN –

“thanks for waiting” instead of “sorry for being late”, etc.

POSITIVITY IN HOW I DEAL WITH SITUATIONS –

stop getting irritated by things so easily

PUT ON WEIGHT & MANAGE MY FITNESS –

Fuck you Fibromyalgia, strength & self-confidence in my body will happen in 2017!

BE MORE EXPERIMENTAL WITH FOOD – 

Change up dinners, incorporate more healthy meals, cook better!

Let’s see what we can do…

What are your resolutions for 2017?

Header photo: Pinterest

5 thoughts on “Hello 2017!

Leave a Reply

