5 ways to beat the January blues

Ugh, every year I never prepare for the January blues but it honestly hits me right where it hurts. I don’t even see it coming and then BAM, I’m done, I want to curl up in a little ball in bed and just sleep until this awful mood goes away.

Anyone else lose all motivation and just feel… ‘off’ after Christmas? I am unsure why but every year I feel the exact same way about January. It’s strange because, though one half of me is super excited, positive and motivated by the prospect of a new year, the ambitions I have, and the goals I want to achieve, there is the other side of me that is just not right – moody, tired, miserable, lacking any motivation and just wanting to hibernate the days away.

Maybe it is all the reflection of the speedy year gone by, or the cold really irking my little bones and really, my goals are slowly disappearing into the pool of dust I feel is my life right now. Who knows.

But I know I’m not alone in this – it is a crazy phenomenon that pretty much everyone experiences to a certain degree. Leading me to this post!

Focus on things that make you happy

As easy as it is to be down in the dumps, focus on the good things. A new year comes a lot of new changes and it is easy for your moods to sway in fears of the future, work pressure or just stress after the Christmas break. Keep your cool, and remember that for every bad thing I can assure you that 10 good things are in your life that you can’t see; it reminds me of the phrase ‘Summer is a state of mind’! Click here to kick more negative habits in the ass for 2017.

Look to the future

New year comes with a lot of reflection and many goals that put you under pressure to make this year ‘the best year yet’. Look, you can bog yourself down with all of the positivity and aims that you like, but if you don’t look to the future, plan ahead and really realise that the January blues will, ideally, only last for a brief moment, and that the things you are worrying or stressing about now are not forever, it helps you to put things into perspective. Stop worrying about what’s changing and think about what could be.

cropped-img_3586.jpg

Exercise & Wellness

I cannot stress enough that eating well and resting well will make you feel 100x better. It is so natural for your body to feel sluggish after copious amounts of alcohol, rich food and way to many pigs in blankets, and with your routine is out of the pan going back to reality is the worst possible thing your body can think of right now! By eating good food, cleansing your body of the yorkshire puds, and stimulating your happy hormones, you will feel a lot more relaxed and ready for the year ahead.

Look after yourself

Getting into a routine is hard and it is enough to make you forget about your number 1 pal in your life – YOU! Don’t forget to look after yourself too, and do things to make you feel better and happier. This also includes food and exercising, but my post 5 easy ways to look after yourself gives some other ideas too.

0e16d1427de6e7d565eef76e1f375586
Source: Pinterest

Recognise unhappiness & change it

Instead of letting your bad mood take over your entire being, be proactive and try and do things to change it. By recognising a bad place in your mind, you can change what you’re doing, take time out, have a bath or anything to boost your spirits. There is no point sitting and dwelling on it – it will just make you feel worse!

Surround yourself with positivity

This is probably the most important step. You are a reflection of your peers and if they aren’t providing you with the positivity you need, you should have left them in 2016! This month it is crucial for you to have support and have positivity to bring you happily into the new year. Leave the unnecessary stress behind and focus on what you need to make your year great. Starting with a good support system!


If you have any other ideas or similar posts, do let me know in the comments & let’s help each other get out of the funk!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. talkmakeuptome says:

    Lovely read x

  2. Wow your blog is so pretty!

  3. Tabi Bee says:

    Love your photos! Great post aswell ;) <3

    https://busybeeblogweb.wordpress.com

  4. MOMPUNK says:

    The january blues are SO real – glad to see I’m not alone haha. I started keeping a “gratitude journal” this month and it’s definitely improved my mood; would DEFINITELY recommend giving it a try. Good luck girl! xx

    1. earthtoloz says:

      That’s such a good idea! I think I’m going to start – need to focus more on the positives rather than what I’m being miserable about haha! And you!! Xx

  5. LOVE this, such great advice and a wonderful reminder to be positive. I nominated you for the versatile blogger award, check it out! https://dontgiveajam.com/2017/02/08/versatile-blogger-award/

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad. Aw wow, thanks so much. I’ll check it out a bit later! Xxx

  6. Great post and I love your blog layout its gorgeous <3

  7. petitechai says:

    Since I am on the other side of the world, this post is more relevant to me now as we head into winter. Yay haha. Great post!

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Haha I should rename it to suit!! Sending you positivity throughout it! X

Leave a Reply

