5 things I’ve learnt since I’ve started blogging

I have been in and out of blogging for nearly 2 years now, but 2016 was the year I really decided to get involved in the community and take time to dedicate to EarthtoLoz.

I have so many plans for it for 2017 and some exciting changes coming, but before that I wanted to reflect on how much I have learnt.

It can be frustrating, but the benefits are worth it

I don’t get paid to blog, and sometimes I had times where I was like – is this even worth it? I don’t have spare time as it is – what if it is just a waste of time? But I easily kicked myself out of this vibe because the benefits overlook everything. I love blogging, I love writing and I love having something to keep my fast-paced brain busy – especially as Fibromyalgia can take a lot of my physical abilities.

It is ok to not feel in the mood to write

Blog for fun, not because you feel you have to, especially if it is a part-time thang. It isn’t a chore, it is a passion and a hobby. When I feel bogged down with work, I never want to feel that blogging is work to me (part of the reason I spent so long picking a day to weekly post). I love the idea of doing it at my own pace in my own time.

I love to be inspired

Everything inspires me in one way or another, and the best thing about blogging is being surrounded by like-minded individuals who share this passion for writing and creating content with you. I love going on Pinterest or flicking through magazines or Instagram and effortlessy having a look at pictures, content, reading through other’s blogs and really just enjoying what others may see as ‘research’. It is literally like a daily hobby to be inspired.

The supportive community

I adore how supportive and welcoming everyone is to blogging and it inspires me to be kind too. I love sharing thoughts and views with the community, and it is such a nice atmosphere that makes you want to be involved. I love that aspect of blogging and it definitely keeps me sane on the days that I question my input!

Self-motivation is key

It is so easy to get caught in the trap of demotivation, especially when you are full-time working and not getting paid to blog, and I know I’m definitely not the only one here. But blogging teaches you the deeper whys behind the reason you publish content for others to read. It teaches you how to be confident in your own work and respect other’s too. I am ambitious and determined to succeed and blogging definitely fuels these elements of my personality!

Check out my previous post: A historical weekend – #Womensmarch
Do you like my personal posts? See more here.

What’s your favourite thing about blogging?

Header photo taken by adelehoukes.com
21 Comments Add yours

  1. StephJ says:

    Great post! I struggled with accepting lack of motivation in the beginning. I would make myself write. the result was I would end up with blog posts I hated. Never fun!

    1. earthtoloz says:

      I agree! And it feels like a chore when it’s really a hobby! X

      1. StephJ says:

        Yes exactly! Which is no fun at all. Now I only write when I am in the mood. haha. Some days I just feel like i’m on a roll, ya know?

      2. earthtoloz says:

        I’m the same! I fully make the most of those days too… bash out a few posts so my unmotivated days don’t feel too pressurising!! X

      3. StephJ says:

        Yes! it is so true!

  2. Loving the last point. When I started writing I noticed it could be so difficult to actually sit behind that laptop and to just let the creative juices flow. Self-motivation is definitely key, there’s nobody else who can do that for you. Lovely blog by the way.

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Creators.co? I’m currently on a personal mission to expand the Lifestyle section of the platform, and i’m therefore looking for people with an interest in writing and who are looking to increase their readership. Let me know if you’d be up for that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more information, you can find my contact details on my blog. Would love to hear from you.

  3. Safa Loves says:

    This is such a great post! I agree whole heartedly about the community, it’s such a supportive and sweet atmosphere. My favourite part has to be the fact that I can write about what I want and when I want, it’s such a good outlet x

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Definitely! Exactly, I love how you can be so creative x

  4. Loved reading this! You’ve got such a lovely blog ! I’d love if you could visit my blog and maybe even follow my blog. :)

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Thanks hun! Of course x

  5. billyleemaexx says:

    I love this post! I’m new to this whole blogging thing, I’d love it if you checked out my blog💗

  6. Such a great inspiring post! I have hit a little rut and this helped remind me that blogging should be fun, not a chore! :)

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Thank you! Glad I could help, don’t worry we all get to that bit, remember why you started! Xxx

  7. McKenzie Mikel says:

    I’m learning these things as well as a new blogger :)

    1. earthtoloz says:

      You definitely get into your own rhythm! X

  8. petitechai says:

    I really love the supportive community online. Whilst no one has really commented on my posts, I enjoy interacting with other people and we can all support each other which is lovely

    1. earthtoloz says:

      I agree and definitely motivates me to keep going! X

  9. Cecilia Shih says:

    I really enjoy your contents. We are all on the path of learning!! xx
    Hope you have a lovely weekend. And looking forward for your contents!

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Thanks so much! I agree, plus all in it together :-) xx

Leave a Reply

