First Impressions: Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit

I’m actually quite picky when it comes to anything put around my mouth (oioi) but something drew me to the Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit this weekend, and I just wanted to try it out and see what the fuss of a lip-kit is all about.

I want to start off by saying that, warning unpopular opinion, I am so not into the lip kit craze. When it comes to the Kylie Jenner lip-kit’s I just really am over it – I cannot justify spending the best part of £100 to get something delivered that, let’s be honest, I’m probably not going to wear often, when I can save that money on something that I can actually try out, and find a better deal on, and makes me feel less guilty about it all. Is any makeup really worth £100? I’m yet to find out on my student budget. So I am kind of glad that the drugstore have swooped in to give me some of their own to try, a bit more sensitive to my financial situation (and my tolerance)!

But this one may have changed my mind…

The pack comes with a lip liner and a ‘matte liquid lip paint’. I chose the shade Pose, which from the packaging sits closely to the lip liner, however the actual finishing colour is actually lighter than the box advertises.

No problem though, it is actually a really nice colour and for £6.99, a bloody bargain for both a lip liner and a lipstick. I like the packaging and it makes life a bit easier getting both together, so off to a good start.

Then, it comes to the actual trying of the product. “No problem,” I say to myself, “just put a bit of lipliner on (really nice and smooth by the way), try the lipstick… oops a bit too much… oh shit… will this ever dry??!”. Yep, I won’t lie, I had a brief few moments where I felt a pang of worry that I really don’t like it. However, I stuck it out.

It definitely took a few tries to get it just right for me… particularly as I much prefer the natural look and this can very easily go the opposite way. This is mainly down to the fact that the lipstick itself is very, very thin and so runny! Compared to other matte lipsticks I have tried, which are really thick and you need to do a few coats, this lipstick just went where the wind took it. Therefore, you honestly do not need to use much at all, as this consistency means that it has the tendency to look really bunched up and too much if using too much.

But after this initial hurdle and once I got the hang of it, it actually looks really nice. I found that, prior to initial thought, it is a good thing that it is so thin – you use a lot less than you normally would and once finished, the look is so light and airy. I kind of like that you can go from natural to party girl in 0.5 seconds because I like the simplicity of the product. Taking a little bit more time and effort meant that the finish was smooth and classy, with the ability to build and work with the product effortlessly.

img_4777.jpg

I found that the brush was really soft, and the formula is so lightweight that you forget you have anything on (something I like a lot). Once dry, the matte finish is nice and natural, though be careful not to use too much and to moisturise your lips beforehand because, girl, there is no hiding any dryness!

I am also extremely impressed with the longevity of this product – it passes the drink test, the eating test, and stayed put for a good 10 hours, even when I am always chewing and biting my lips, so this ticks a lot of boxes for me. There isn’t a huge range of colours at the moment – 3 to be precise – but they are quite versatile and can be dressed up and down seasonally so all is good.

Overall: I like it – it took a bit of getting used to on my impatient behalf, however it is an easy go-to lip colour that lasts all day and can be worn across outfits, seasons and looks.

❣️ Have you seen my last post? 3 ways to look like you tried without trying ❣️
❣️ Check out all of my beauty posts here ❣️

I’d love to hear your thoughts guys, let me know your favourite lip-kits and link me to some posts if you’ve reviewed!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful finished look💖

  2. DELIGHTESH says:

    omg I love this colour!

    1. earthtoloz says:

      It is so nice! So versatile as well x

  3. Safa Loves says:

    Wow I’m really impressed by the lasting power of this! I’ll have to check it out, great post xx

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Yes it is really good, though obviously may be different for other people! Thanks hun xx

  4. Johanna says:

    I just brought one on the lipsticks the other day. Thank God I read your post before hand otherwise the consistency of it would have caught me out! It does have some great lasting power, especially when it comes to eating. Something I haven’t found with other highstreet brands yet (I haven’t brought one from NYX yet just Collection and Revolution) so I’m happy I brought it!

    1. earthtoloz says:

      It’s so intense isn’t it!! I agree, takes some getting used to but I really like it! Glad to hear girl xx

Leave a Reply

