First impressions: Benefit’s Girl Meets Pearl

First of all, my posts have been a bit all over the place this month so I can only apologise. After a lot of changes in my life, I’m up and at ’em and going to stick to the consistency.

Anywho, another First Impressions? You lucky people. In all honesty, though, I should not be spending any more money… But as soon as I went into Debenhams I knew that my poor bank account (if you pardon the pun, but somewhat accurate at the same time…) was going to take a slight punch.

To be fair, I needed a new highlighter because mine was running out and I was feeling something a bit more natural, dewy, glowy and ready for warmer (lol) weather. I was looking for something I could wear everyday with my BB Cream and that creates a fresh but bronzed and natural finish. For this, Benefit was my natural go-to.

The lady was super helpful and gave me two options, one slightly stronger and more pigmented, and then Girl Meets Pearl, which I chose due to its’ multi-functionality and more natural looking for everyday wear. Both were the same price, before I get those kinds of judgements!

First of all, can we talk about how gorgy this packaging is?! All of Benefit is normally so intricate and traditionally detailed, but this is so cute that at first I didn’t want to use it and ruin it (but the price quickly took over in my mind and I was right in there).

IMG_1130

I love a buildable product, and this is the epitome of building up detail. You can really create so many looks with this, it is super pigmented but you can either use it underneath makeup, on top as a strong highlight, or just to dab across for a really natural, pretty glow.

IMG_1134

The product works by twisting the bottom to reveal a beautiful lilacy-gold shade, like so!

The way I use this genuinely depends on my mood and whether I’m in a rush/dependent on the look I’m going for.

At first I was like que?! Where is it on my face? I think I need better lighting in my flat, but it is so subtle when applying directly to my face underneath my makeup, and gives a really nice glow that you do notice in direct light. If I don’t use it that way, I dab it on the back of my hand and use a brush for a more controlled highlight on my cheeks, nose, eyebrow bone and cupids bow.

The first thing I noticed was the smell, because it is really fresh, clean and pretty (if that’s a smell). I also noticed how soft it was, and really different to Benefit’s High Beam, as it is so easy to use on top of makeup as I often find cream highlight rubs my makeup off underneath it. It is really easy to use and definitely foolproof – I am not a beauty guru by any means so the ability to be really lazy using this is something that I thoroughly enjoy, because you can literally shove it on and go.

IMG_1153.JPG

It’s a really gorgeous colour, and though it looks pink at first, the gold pigments really shine through creating a gorgeous, soft look.

❣️ Have you seen my previous post? ❣️
❣️ My last First Impressions: Click here ❣️

What do you think, guys? What’s your favourite highlighter?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. bellainizio says:

    Oh my goodness, it’s so pretty! 😍 great post!

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Isn’t it!! Justifies the price! X

  2. Love this review! This highlight looks beautiful and I love that you can be lazy and just throw it on! I nominated you for the blogger recognition award, here’s the link if you’d like to check that out. https://dontgiveajam.com/2017/03/22/blogger-recognition-award-3-4-5-6/

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Thank you so much! I will check it out 😀 xx

  3. Kali Borovic says:

    That’s so pretty! Great post xx.

  4. Lovely post girl! Such a stunning colour also! Must get! XO

Leave a Reply

