Paris, a fear of flying and blisters the size of my head…

Goodness, what a week! But for my 21st birthday, my (amazing, wonderful, overly kind) parents booked for Lew & I to visit Paris for the weekend. Though I have been to France a lot of times across my life, I have never properly got to visit the capital and explore it to its’ full potential. So, from Friday 24th to Sunday 26th, we had 3 full days to run wild and visit everything we could squeeze in!!

Day 1!

Leaving our flat at 3:45am and we arrived with a lot of time to spare to get parked, sorted, go through security for our flight at 7am. We ensured we had enough time to get breakfast (a good old British fry up) and for me to ‘prepare’ myself for the flight (Oh, and did I mention, I AM TERRIFIED OF FLYING!!).

We got to Paris at around 9:30am, waited for our shuttle bus (I really recommend using Airport Van as they were absolutely amazing – booked through Expedia!) and got to the hotel at around 11:30am, a cute hotel in Sacre Coeur, Montmartre, home to the lovely Moulin Rouge (which, by the way, at night is awesome).

IMG_1863.jpg

After checking into the hotel and leaving our bags in our room, we ventured out, got some lunch and took the Metro to visit Notre Dame de Paris Cathedral and then had a walk along the River. It is such a beautiful city and one that you have to take on foot to really experience it in its’ full beauty.

IMG_1129

 

IMG_1900

We then walked up through Jardin des Tuileries to get to the Champs-Elysees, essentially the Bond Street of Paris. I couldn’t resist going into Sephora and treating myself to a new face powder, featured at some point over the next few weeks so keep your eyes peeled for that review!

IMG_1940

IMG_1943

We then went to Arc de Triomphe, and got extremely dizzy climbing up quite literally the longest spiral staircase ever to reach the top, but with an amazing view overlooking the whole of Paris.

IMG_1948

The views were unbelievable, apart from looking down and seeing the most ridiculous driving I’ve ever seen – my perfectionism was going insane!!!

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 21.32.56.png
What are lanes?

IMG_1971

IMG_1956

By this point, it was starting to get dark and functioning on 5 hours sleep was not a good look, so we had dinner at a lovely little Italian restaurant on the Champs-Elysees and headed back to the hotel, seeing the Moulin Rouge, and then had an early night ready for the next day.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 21.36.32.png

Day 2!

We had a bit of a lie in and left the hotel at around 10am as we had booked to go to the Louvre just past 11am. We grabbed some breakfast (and plasters for my blisters!!) ready for our day!

IMG_1909.jpg

IMG_1987

IMG_1977

IMG_1019

IMG_1080

The Louvre was absolutely stunning and we got really lucky with temperatures reaching around 16-18 degrees! We spent a couple of hours exploring the beautiful museum, seeing Mona Lisa in real life (the whole of the room were fangirling) and planning my future home through the most beautiful furniture and ceiling pieces ever.

Once finished we went to explore the Eiffel Tower and all of its’ beauty. We had a wonder around the grounds and unfortunately couldn’t get tickets to go inside, but outside was just as beautiful.IMG_1022

IMG_1065

Spending some time taking it all in, we went for lunch at a lovely little cafe round the corner with a great view (and great crepes too!).

IMG_1049

We decided to rent some bikes and cycle around the Eiffel Tower a bit, including the side streets and the most terrifying driving experience as I was trying not to get crushed by not only crazy drivers and buses, but bike taxi’s honking at us, and pedestrians, who no matter how many times I belled they just wouldn’t move!

IMG_1070IMG_1068

IMG_1053

By this point it was approaching 5:30pm, and my blisters were so humungous it was vile (damn new but beautiful shoes!!!). We needed to get ready to go out for my birthday meal for 7pm Au Petit Sud Ouest. The food speciality was Duck, and it was beautiful, with amazing wine choices and round the corner from the Eiffel Tower. Definitely recommend! We then RAN to watch the Eiffel Tower light up at 9pm, a glittery beauty in the night-time.

IMG_1101.jpg

Day 3!

Our last day! After checking out, being round the corner from La Basilique du Sacre Coeur de Montmartre, we walked down the most beautiful Parisian side streets to visit it. It took about 15 minutes but my goodness, was it worth it.

IMG_1137

IMG_1150

IMG_1154

IMG_1155

IMG_1143IMG_1149

The view was absolutely insane, and the Basilica is stunning, plus a French man playing the harp really topped it off to being one of the most beautiful memories I’ve had.. You can get a cable car to the bottom, but we decided to walk down the steps and really take in the view.

IMG_1148

Walking around, we then decided to find our way to Jardin de Luxembourg, where we spent about an hour and a half before it was time to head to the airport for our journey home.

What an amazing trip. I’m so grateful to my amazing parents!

❣️Have you seen my previous post?❣️
❣️My last travel posts: here and here❣️

What did you get up to this weekend?

 

6 thoughts on “Paris, a fear of flying and blisters the size of my head…

  1. Wow, your parents are so lovely! These photos are absolutely stunning too; I love France as my grandad is half-French, but we usually visit the South of France as opposed to Paris. Definitely want to visit after this post xx

Leave a Reply

