5 steps to effortless, HEATLESS, beachy waves

I know, another week off, sorry all. Some would say I’m taking the piss but the UK was disgustingly hot with a heatwave (can you believe it?!!) and it was too hot to breathe, let alone blog.

Now the weather has cooled, back to rainy normality, the winter jumpers back out in full swing. But I wanted to share with you a new trick I learnt that’s probably really simple that everyone knows, but I thoroughly enjoy!

If you are a regular reader, you know I love simplicity, effortlessness and getting great results with minimal effort (lazy or strategic with time? You decide…). I also love the natural, beachy waves look but for some reason my hair either does not stay and flops or it goes way too curly, frizzy and untameable and there seems to be no in between.

But getting my haircut the other day (how do hairdressers actually blowdry properly though?) I spent so long trying to figure out how to use a hairdryer properly that I feel like I have more split ends now than I did before. I tried this method instead and it worked so much better, without the added pain of trying to keep twisting a hairbrush and dropping it every 5 minutes.

Plus, this tutorial requires sleep which, if you know me, is my number 1 priority in life.


Step 1

It has to be an afternoon or evening. For best results, wash your hair and hairdry your hair upside down so there is enough volume and it doesn’t lie flat. I also used my Aussie Leave-in Conditioner for extra shine.

Step 2

IMG_2228.JPG

Once your hair is dry, twist your hair until the twist is tight. Depending on the thickness of your hair, and how curly you want your hair to go, do more or less twists, or make them higher/lower on the head for different curled looks.

Step 3

thumbnail_IMG_0138.jpg

thumbnail_IMG_2232.jpg

Wrap around the twisted hair into a bun and hair-pin the end of the hair to keep the bun in place. Get a shower cap and place over head to ensure any flyaways are kept softly and neatly in place.

Step 4

Sleep!

Step 5

Awaken, unravel your hair and voila! Hello beachy waves.

EA14E8A9-7836-4D6D-B1C4-A68FD543BA37.JPG
I know, the Basic Bitch snapchat filter

It is such a simple technique but creates such a lovely curl to the hair that lasts all day. I sprayed mine with a bit of Ellnette hairspray or you can use salt spray and scrunch the hair for a bit more of an effortless, hot-mess vibe.

❣️ Have you read my previous review post? Click here ❣️
❣️ My last post is here, what do you think?❣️

I hope you enjoy guys! What are your favourite heatless hair techniques? Also, let me know if you like me doing hair tutorial blog posts and, you never know, I may plan some more for the future! 😋

5 thoughts on “5 steps to effortless, HEATLESS, beachy waves

  1. I love curls especially if they’re heatless but my hair just drags them down and in about 1-2 hours so it just ends up straight. In the end I just don’t bother. Love your curls though. they’re super cute!

    1. Mine normally do too! I’m not sure whether it’s because I kept it in a shower cap or because of the length of time it was in the bun that it stayed put though. Thank you! C

Leave a Reply

