3 things that happened when I minimalised my life

As someone who’s a home-bird, I love living with as much around me as possible – my things represent a part of me. I hoard little items, symbols of memories, even if just simply a receipt or an old top or a bag simply because it reminds me of someone, or something. It is almost like I invest a little bit of emotional attachment in things that are mine, so it makes it much harder to get rid of them.

Over the past few weeks, however, I’ve been on a bit of a destress train. It first started when I realised, shit, this time next year we’re going to have to pack up all of our stuff and move it back home. How?! We have so much! But also, I realised the more stuff around me, coincidently, affected my stress levels. Believe it or not, the clutter, the unnecessary 5 bottles of moisturiser (of which I didn’t even use one of) and the ridiculous amount of things we had ‘just incase’ were getting to me, my morning routine was taking ten times longer, and I couldn’t be dealing with the havoc of rummaging through shit. But not only that, it projected a constant chaotic mental state that I took with me in things I used all the time – my purse, my phone, my bag. All of my decisions were somehow more complicated purely for the fact I had so much stuff.

The moment I decluttered my life, I felt 100% better, calmer and more focussed.

I stopped spending as much money

The first thing I did was realise how ridiculous my wardrobe was. I was trying to find one top to wear to work and suddenly, I noticed how I was buying tops, shirts, trousers that I already had because I couldn’t even see my wardrobe properly! It was ridiculous and a complete first-world problem. I shouldn’t waste my money in that way. As soon as I could see my clothes, I realise now that I wear pretty much every single piece. Then, I realised when I actually ‘needed’ a piece of clothing, beauty buy or toiletry, I’d find a good alternative, being a lot more innovative when it came to buying products and using money, using apps such as Depop or buying better quality items rather than 3 or 4 of the same.

I became less stressed

As I made less decisions throughout the day, as to what I was wearing, using, or where things were (pretty much lost in the masses before). Now, because I could see it clearly, it just meant that I had one less thing to think of in the day. Plus, no wasted time, no irritations of losing things, and I had more space to work with meaning more organisation! This seems ridiculous, but it really clears the mind, especially when everything is in order but you are making full use of what you have, without that nagging thought of “needing” another. My control-freak tendencies were on a high!

I stopped the reliance

I travel a lot, to and from home, and I’m always having to minimalise my belongings. I thought, why not implement this into my daily life? Once I had less than before, I realised what was actually important, and my focus went elsewhere. I stopped relying on 4 different products, when I could find it in just one. I also stopped the need to use them constantly, as I knew that once gone, that was it and I don’t have much of a back up. I also learnt to make do with what I’ve got, which is still a lot, appreciating things way more than before.

You just have to be ruthless when clearing out, and don’t even think about it. I promise it feels so much better!

❣️ Have you seen my previous post? Click here! ❣️
❣️ My last lifestyle post was this. What did you think? ❣️

 What do you think guys? Let me know in the comments 😀

Header pic: Pinterest

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. StephJ says:

    Amazing post! i have been working on doing the same. It is very motivating to see others paving the way!

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Thank you! I agree. Let me know how it goes with you 😀 x

  2. Amazing! I’m really happy for you!

    Have an awesome day!
    xx Kris

    https://dreamingofpink.wordpress.com

    1. earthtoloz says:

      Thank you! And you 💜

Leave a Reply

